Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM, these hours are subject to change.
Show All Answers
The Clinton Police Department is located at:113 6th Avenue SClinton, IA 52732
Our non-emergency phone number is 563-243-1458.
We are open 24 hours a day, every day.
All job announcements are published in the Job Opportunities section of the City website.
You can contact the Clinton County Sheriff's Department at 563-242-9211. They are open 24 hours a day, every day.
You can contact the Iowa State Patrol at 563-284-9501. They are open 24 hours a day, every day.
The phone number for the Clinton County Courthouse is 563-243-6211. The courthouse is located at:612 N 2nd StreetClinton, IA 52732
The Courthouse hours are from 8 am to 4:30 pm. Monday through Friday.
The 24-hour customer service phone number for Alliant Energy is 800-255-4268 or to report an outage 877-740-5050.
The 24-hour customer service phone number for Alliant Energy is 800-255-4268 or to report an outage 877-740-5050. If you think you may have a gas leak in your home, leave the residence and make the call from a safe place.
The Iowa State Patrol offers a road report hot-line at 800-288-1047 or 511 on your cell phone or Iowa Road Conditions. This service is updated as often as possible during periods of bad weather.
We are no longer providing this service and are directing everyone to the Clinton County Sheriff’s Office.
No. Contact the Clinton County Sheriff's office regarding fingerprinting.
There are several options for payment of city parking violations. There is a drop-off box across the street from City Hall, 611 South 3rd Street. You can also mail the fine with the ticket to the address shown on the ticket, but please do not send cash through the mail. You may also pay the fine in person at the City Finance Office at City Hall, 611 South 3rd Street, Clinton, IA 52732, first floor.
Yes, the emergency outdoor warning system is activated whenever there has been a severe weather warning for Clinton and/or Clinton County. Two important notes: the system is routinely tested at 10 am on the first Tuesday of each month. We do not issue an "all clear" siren. For additional information, please refer to local radio and television stations. Please do not call the police department during severe weather situations unless you have an actual emergency. In the event of a 911 outage, the media and weather radios will be used to notify the public.
The Iowa Department of Transportation offers applications and testing for new and renewing driver's licenses at the IDOT office located at:316 S 2nd StreetClinton, IA 52732
The phone number is 563-243-7144. Normal hours of operation: Tuesday through Friday, 8:30 am to 5 pm and Saturday, 8 am to 1 pm. You may renew your driver's license 40 days before or 60 days after expiration.
The Iowa Seventh Judicial District holds court at the Clinton County Courthouse located at:612 N 2nd StreetClinton, IA 52732
The courtrooms are located on the second and third floors and the Clerk of Court Office in Clinton is located on the first floor of the courthouse. Call 563-243-6211 for more information.
Persons taken into custody by the Clinton Police Department are transported to the Clinton County Jail in Clinton. You can contact the jail at 563-242-9211, which is located at:Clinton County Law Center241 7th Avenue NClinton, IA 52732
The Clinton County Jail's phone number is 563-242-9211.
Randy Meier is the Director of Seniors vs. Crime and is located at the Clinton County Sheriff's Office. The phone number is 563-242-9211, Extension 4433.
Traffic tickets are handled through the Clerk of Court Office. If you simply want to pay the ticket, and an appearance is not required, then you can either mail or bring the appropriate copy of the ticket, plus the fine, to the:Clerk of Court Office612 N 2nd StreetClinton, IA 52732
If the ticket was issued outside the Clinton area, there should be a corresponding address for the local Clerk of Court Office near the top of the citation. Send the ticket, plus the fine, to that address.
See information on contesting parking tickets.
The Clerk of Court's office is located in the Clinton County Courthouse. The phone number is 563-243-6213.
In the event you want to contest a parking ticket, you must come to the Clinton Police Department, with the parking ticket, and request a Contested Parking Violation form. The form must be submitted to the Clinton Police Department within seven calendar days of the violation. You will be asked to complete a Contested Parking Ticket form. Copies of the form and ticket will be taken and passed on to the appropriate Commander, who will in turn give back to the issuing officer for review.
The City of Clinton requires solicitors to be registered with the City Clerk's office. All individuals licensed to solicit door-to-door are listed on the City website. If they are causing problems for you or harassing you, a visit by a Clinton police officer may be warranted.
Unless accompanied by a responsible adult, no minor under age 14 years shall be in any place during the following times:
Unless accompanied by a responsible adult, no minor age 14 to 17 shall be in any place during the following times:
Contact the Code Enforcement Division of the Community Development Department. The nuisance hotline is 563-244-3360.
Vehicles are released only to the registered owner of that vehicle. The owner of the vehicle needs to come to the Clinton Police Department, located at 113 6th Avenue South, to resolve the issue of why the vehicle was towed, and to pay an administrative fee of $50. Upon proof of insurance, valid driver's license and receipt of $50, a Release will be provided to notify the tow company that the vehicle can be released.
The owner of the vehicle is responsible for any fees related to the towing and storage of the vehicle.
4. a. If a peace officer stops a motor vehicle registered in this state and the driver is unable to provide proof of financial liability coverage, the peace officer shall do one of the following:
(1) Issue a warning memorandum to the driver.(2) Issue a citation to the driver.(3) Issue a citation and remove the motor vehicle's license plates and registration receipt.(a) Upon removing the license plates and registration receipt, the peace officer shall deliver the plates for destruction, as appropriate, and forward the registration receipt and evidence of the violation, as determined by the department, to the county treasurer of the county in which the motor vehicle is registered.
Contact the Code Enforcement Division of the Community Development Department. The nuisance hotline is 563-242-7770.
The City's parking code is available on the American Legal website for the City and is found in Chapter 79. If you have a parking problem that needs immediate attention, contact the Clinton Police Department at 563-243-1458.
If you have an unauthorized vehicle parked in your reserved parking stall, leased parking stall, or simply have a vehicle parked on your private property, commercial or residential, you may call the Police Department 563-243-1458 and request a parking ticket be issued. You then may choose to have the vehicle towed by a private towing service.
79.10 Calendar ParkingCity Code Section 79.10 outlines the Calendar Parking provisions.
(A) General provisions. Calendar parking shall be activated with the occurrence of a snow event, which is defined as the accumulation of one inch or more of snow upon the public right-of-way.
(B) (1) During the period from November 15 through March 15, when a snow event has occurred, parking is restricted in the public right-of-way to alternate sides of the roadway in the following manner:
(a) On odd-numbered days, vehicles shall only be parked, stopped or left standing on that side of the roadway having odd-numbered addresses.
(b) On even-numbered days, vehicles shall only be parked, stopped or left standing on that side of the roadway having even-numbered addresses.
(2) A snow event will remain in effect for 72 hours after the snow has stopped.
(3) The hours for calendar parking will be from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. Vehicles will have three hours to be moved to the correct side of the roadway.
(4) The date at 6:00 a.m. shall determine if the day is odd or even.
(5) During a snow emergency, calendar parking shall be in effect except on designated snow routes where no parking will be permitted until the snow emergency has been cancelled.
(6) This section shall not apply to commercial districts where parking is designated on both sides of the street.
(C) Street sweeping calendar parking.
(1) For two weeks during the fall and two weeks during the spring, calendar parking will go into effect Monday through Friday, with advance notice provided. During said times, parking shall be restricted in the public right-of-way to alternate sides of the roadway in the following manner:
(a) On even-numbered days, vehicles shall only be parked, stopped or left standing on that side of the roadway having even-numbered addresses.
(2) The hours for calendar parking will be from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 a.m. Vehicles will have three hours to be moved to the correct side of the roadway.
(3) The date at 6:00 a.m. shall determine if the day is odd or even.
(4) This section shall not apply to commercial districts where parking is designated on both sides of the street.
When predictions or occurrences indicate the need, the City Administrator or authorized representative shall declare a snow emergency, publicize the same over all radio stations in the city and publish the same in all newspapers in the city. During a snow emergency, calendar parking will be in effect except on streets designated as a snow route where no parking will be permitted until the snow emergency is no longer in effect. On those streets where parking is normally permitted on only one side of the street, then vehicles may be parked on that side of the street only except on streets designated as a snow route where no parking will be permitted.
A vehicle parked on a city street must be moved every 24 hours, and they have to be moved at least 25 feet on their own.
Contact the Patrol Operations Commander at the Clinton Police Department, at 563-243-1455 to inform him of the occurrence. The Patrol Operations Commander will investigate the incident.
If you receive repeated prank phone calls, phone harassment, or other calls documentation of dates, times, and phone numbers from where the calls originated will be necessary to investigate and prosecute these offenses. You can obtain a form to log this information on from any police officer.
The Records Division of the Clinton Police Department will provide copies of reports for insurance companies, etc. for a nominal fee. The office is located at the Clinton Police Department, and is open weekdays from 8 am to 2 pm.
You will need to go to the Clinton County Courthouse and go to the Clerk of Court’s office. The Clerk’ of Courts office will provide you with paperwork that you will fill out. The Clinton County Clerk of Court can be reached at: 563-243-6213.
All questions concerning animal control, both domestic and native animals, should be directed to the Clinton County Humane Society. Phone number: 563-242-2457.
The Animal Protection Officer responds to domestic animal calls. The Police Department does not have the means to handle wildlife rescues.
Animal licenses for dogs or cats are available at the Finance Department of City Hall, the Clinton Humane Society and at Midwest Pets for Life. Applicants are required to provide a current rabies vaccination certificate, evidence whether the animal has been spayed or neutered, name, color, sex and breed of the dog or cat, and the name, address, phone number and date of birth for the owner.
The animal licensing period begins January 1 and runs for the calendar year. Re-application for a license may be made until March 1 without assessment of a fee surcharge.
If the animal is outside, the animal needs to remain on your property. Shelter is to be provided for any animal when kept outside. When walking an animal off your property, the animal needs to be on a leash.
The City of Clinton recommends bicycle owners in the community register their bikes. Bicycle owners will fill out a short form in person at the Clinton Police Department. The information is recorded in our system and you receive a sticker with a registration number to affix to your bike. It's that easy! You will need to know the make, model, type of bike, serial number, speeds, color, and style to complete the registration process. You can register your bike at the Clinton Police Department, 113 6th Avenue South, free of charge.
Bicycle riding on sidewalks is allowed unless signs are erected on any sidewalk prohibiting the riding of bicycles.
ATV's and UTV's can be operated on any street with a speed limit of 35 miles per hour or less, excluding any primary road extensions (Mill Creek Parkway, Highway 30, Highway 136 and Highway 67). ATV's and UTV's may cross a primary road extension in order to reach streets where lawful operations are permitted. Persons operating ATV's and UTV's on City streets shall have a valid and current permit from the Iowa Department of Natural Resources and shall meet all other City Code requirements as found in City Code Chapter 86.
Golf carts can be operated on any street with a speed limit of 30 miles per hour or less, excluding any primary road extensions (Mill Creek Parkway, Highway 30, Highway 136 and Highway 67). Golf carts may cross a primary road extension in order to reach streets where lawful operations are permitted. Persons wishing to operate a golf cart on City streets are required to obtain a one-time City operation permit. Permits can be obtained at the Clinton County Recorder's Office, 1900 North 2nd Street, and the cost per golf cart is $50.
Snowmobiles may be operated within the city per the following outlined in City Code Chapter 80:
(A) Streets. Snowmobiles shall be operated only upon streets which have not been plowed during the snow season and on such other streets as may be designated by resolution of the Council. In addition to the general prohibition of snowmobiles on all city streets, as defined, snowmobiles are specifically prohibited on all of the Mill Creek Parkway right-of-way, the city recreational trail and all flood control levees.
(Iowa Code § 321G.9(4)(a))
(B) Exceptions. Snowmobiles may be operated on prohibited streets only under the following circumstances.
(1) Emergencies. Snowmobiles may be operated on any street in an emergency during the period of time when and at locations where snow upon the roadway renders travel by conventional motor vehicles impractical.
(Iowa Code § 321G.9(4)(c))
(2) Direct crossing. Snowmobiles may make a direct crossing of a prohibited street provided:
(a) The crossing is made at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the direction of the street and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing;
(b) The snowmobile is brought to a complete stop before crossing the street;
(c) The driver yields the right-of-way to all on-coming traffic which constitutes an immediate hazard; and
(d) In crossing a divided street, the crossing is made only at an intersection of the street with another street.
Noise can be made during the following hours:
The Citizen's Police Academy is held every February at Clinton Community College. Applications for Citizen Police Academy can be picked up at the Clinton Police Department or Clinton Community College Technology Center, 1951 Manufacturing Drive. The Citizen Police Academy is a 14-week program starting in February each year. The course covers different areas of police department operations including, police ethics, use of force, crime scene investigations, narcotics, firearms training, to name a few. Eligibility requirements are as follows: you must live or work in Clinton, have no felony convictions anywhere and no misdemeanor arrests within the last three years. There are no physical requirements.