Civil Service Commission


The Commission shall administer the civil service procedure as contained in the Iowa Code Chapter 400, and amendments thereto and shall have, exercise and perform all powers and duties as provided thereby.

Membership and Organization

A Civil Service Commission consisting of three members shall be appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Council for staggered terms of four years. Commissioners must be citizens of the state, eligible electors and residents of the City preceding their appointment. No person while on the Commission shall hold or be a candidate for any office of public trust. 

When a Human Rights Commission has been established, the Director thereof shall ex officio be a member, without vote, of the Civil Service Commission. Civil Service Commissioners shall serve without compensation. The Commission shall elect a Chairperson from among its members.

Current Members

MemberTerm End Date
David Brown4/1/2025
Marsha Smith3/31/2026
James Schmerse4/1/2024

Designated Clerk and Record-Keeping

The City Clerk or a designee of the City Clerk shall be Clerk of the Commission. The Civil Service Commission shall keep a record of all its meetings and also a complete individual service record of each civil service employee which record shall be permanent and kept up to date. 

The Council shall provide suitable rooms in which the Commission may hold its meetings and supply the Commission with all necessary equipment and a qualified shorthand reporter or an electronic voice recording device to enable it to properly perform its duties.